Secret Intelligence Australia was a British political unit under the command of Captain Roy Kendall. It was known as Section "B" of the Allied Intelligence Bureau (AIB). Kendall reported directly to MI6 in London and direct access to Prime Minister Churchill. He was not accountable in any way to the Australians or the Americans. This was acceptable as long as their operations were held outside of the South West Pacific area.

A signal intercept and code-breaking unit, SIA was modelled on the British Secret Intelligence Service (MI6). SIA was charged with the "Collection of information of the enemy and his activities through certain special means and channels concerning which detailed secret instructions will be issued from time to time".

SIA's Headquarters was at "Craigroyston" in Bowen Terrace, in the suburb of New Farm in Brisbane. Its training headquarters was at Newman House at Caboolture, just north of Brisbane. Newman House was a grand old elegant building set in several acres of land. It had a courtyard and extensive gardens, complete with a bowling green, croquet green, tennis courts, billiard room, sundeck and a water tower. SIA operatives used the water tower to practice parachute jumping. It had a wireless station at Newman House and at the Mount Gravatt Showgrounds.

The Netherlands Forces Intelligence Section, Division III worked closely with SIA.

The following are some of the personnel who worked in Secret Intelligence Australia:-

F. Anderson AIF
Sgt. Gerry or Gerrard W. Anscomb Canadian RCEME
Corporal Earle Edwin "Happy" Baxter RAAF 24404
Wing Commander L.J. Brittain RAF
Lt. Bunny Buck RANVR
Lt. Wilfred John Chater VX80683 AIF
LAC Jack Delaney
Lt. (SP) Francis Bernard Kington Drake, RANVR
Lt. Peter Evatt AIF
LAC Frederick Robert Henry Fowler RAAF 25685
Lt. David Graham Garland AIF QX17735
Lt. Kenneth Charles Gillett AIF VX90490
W Cdr Cecil Pitt Hardacre
Cpl Darcy Lloyd Harvey AIF SX15575
Lt. Harold Phillip Kirkpatrick Jacks
Captain Roy Kendall
Lt. King RANVR
Lt. P. Lynch AIF
Sqn Ldr Patrick Campbell MacArthur RAAF 256338
LAC Gordon James McCartney RAAF 130578
Lt. K. McKenzie NZ Army
Fl Lt Lionel McLaughlin RAAF
Lt. Francis Alan Moore RANVR
Lt. Leonard Kearney Morse AIF VX80684
Lt. Hirsch Munz RANVR
Lt. Francis Nankivell RANVR MBE
Lt (SP) Lachlan De Salis Nicolson RANVR MBE
Captain James Pearce AIF
Cpl John Riley
Col. Roscher Royal Corps of Signals
Lance Sergeant Bruce Frederick Ross SX28715
LAC Keith Ross RAAF
Lt. Cmdr Sears RANVR
Sqn Ldr Sheldon
Sub Lt. Trevor Walter James Vear RAN S6629
Eve Walker WRENS
LAC Matthew William "Bill" Charles White RAAF 422781
Lt. John Stewart Wink RAN
LAC Ira Berkley "Dick" Withers RAAF 423273


Abdulla Baraja
Abdulla Bugis
Abdulla Nor
Ahmad Bima
Ahmad Ambon
Carlos Pelmalay
Haji Abdul Shukur
Harmaeni Taha
Lonel (or Lonii) Ga
Matis Pelmalay
Mohammed Tohir
Mohammed Ambon
Pete Tutkey
Romulus Ursea
Tuan Dik



Mrs Winifred Haslam
Norma Wilson


Netherlands East Indies Regional Section



I'd like to thank Mary Paton for her assistance with this web page.


Can anyone help me with more information?


I need your help


 Peter Dunn 2015


Please e-mail me
any information or photographs

"Australia @ War"
8GB USB Memory Stick


This page first produced 27 September 2001

This page last updated 10 October 2016