hline.gif (2424 bytes)


The Air Board was located in Victoria Barracks in St. Kilda Road, Melbourne during WW2.

Once the Allied Air Force Headquarters was established on 30 April 1942 under the command of Air Chief Marshall Sir Charles Burnett, RAAF, the Air Board was reorganised as follows:-

Chief of the Air Staff - Air Vice Marshall Jones

Deputy Chief of the Air Staff - Air Commodore McCauley

Air Member for Personnel - Air Commodore Wrigley

Finance Member - Mr. Elvins

Business Member - Mr. W. Sydney Jones

Air Member for Supply and Equipment - Air Commodore G.J.W. Mackinolty

Air Member for Engineering and Maintenance - Air Commodore E.C. Wackett 


The Air Board on 26 June 1946

L. to R. - W.L. Brown (Finance Member), A.V.M. E.C. Wackett O.B.E. (Air Member for Engineering and Maintenance), A.V.M. J.E. Hewitt O.B.E. (Air Member for Personnel), A.M. G. Jones C.B.E., D.F.C. (Chief of Air Staff), F.J. Mulrooney (Secretary Air Board), R.H. Nesbitt (Business Member) and A.V.M. G.J.W. Mackinolty O.B.E. (Air Member for Supply and Equipment)


Can anyone help me with more information?


"Australia @ War" WWII Research Products

I need your help


 Peter Dunn 2015


Please e-mail me
any information or photographs

"Australia @ War"
8GB USB Memory Stick

This page first produced 1 September 2002

This page last updated 13 January 2020