F/A-18A/B Hornet Aircraft in Australian Service
by John Quaife

hline.gif (2424 bytes)


The CLASSIC F/A-18A/B Hornet Aircraft in Australian Service is one of the very best on aviation I have come across. It’s just gobsmackingly well-researched but reads incredibly well. The book is the absolute authority on the aircraft.’  – Adam Thorn, Editor, Australian Aviation Magazine

Selected in 1981 as the aircraft that would replace the Mirage IIIO as Australia’s new fighter, the F/A-18 Hornet would proceed to establish an un-equalled record of service as Australia’s most successful combat aircraft. Designed from the outset to deliver superior performance as an air-to-air fighter and a precision strike/attack aircraft, the Hornet, more than any other aircraft, has shaped today’s Royal Australian Air Force.

Entering service in 1985, the Classic Hornet, as it became known alongside later F/A-18 variants, would serve as the foundation capability for a generation of networked systems and air combat capabilities. Along the way it would be subjected to the largest and most complex upgrade program ever attempted, anywhere. The aircraft would also lead the way in two of the most significant applications of combat air power by Australian forces since the Vietnam War.

Now retired from service, the full story of Classic Hornet aircraft in Australian service can be told through the experiences of those who dedicated their efforts to make this platform serviceable, work effectively or to evolve. Classic Hornets were on the front-line of Australia’s combat capability for more than 36 years. The story of this remarkable warhorse is a story of evolution, incredible audacity, innovation, survival and persistence.

Hard cover, 228 pages

Lost of amazing colour photos and profiles

6 pages of index


Order your copy of this book from:-

Click on the above picture



"Australia @ War" WWII Research Products

I need your help


©  Peter Dunn OAM 2020


Please e-mail me
any information or photographs

"Australia @ War"
USB Memory Stick

This page first produced 12 June 2023

This page last updated 12 June 2023