hline.gif (2424 bytes)


In September 1939, the 2nd Military District of the Australian Army covered all of New South Wales. The headquarters for the 2nd Military District was located in Sydney.


2nd Military District: HQ Sydney, New South Wales

Base Units

'A' Field Battery, RAA (PF): Paddington

1st Heavy Brigade, RAA: George's Head 
     1st Heavy Battery, RAA (PF): South Head
     101st Heavy Battery, RAA (M): South Head
     2nd Heavy Battery, RAA (PF): George's Head
     102nd Heavy Battery, RAA (M): George's Head
     3rd Heavy Battery, RAA (PF): Newcastle
     103rd Heavy Battery, RAA (M): Newcastle

2nd Fortress Company, RAE (PF): Sydney

8th Fortress Company, RAE (PF): Newcastle

5th Heavy Brigade, RAA: South Head
     13th Heavy Battery, RAA (PF): Newcastle
     113th Heavy Battery, RAA (M): Newcastle
     14th Heavy Battery, RAA (PF): Mosman
     114th Heavy Battery, RAA (M): Mosman
     15th Heavy Battery, RAA (PF): South Head
     115th Heavy Battery, RAA (M): South Head
     16th Heavy Battery, RAA (PF): South Head
     116th Heavy Battery, RAA (M): South Head

1st Anti-Aircraft Brigade, RAA: Sydney
     1st Anti-Aircraft Battery and Cadre, RAA: Mosman
     2nd Anti-Aircraft Battery and Cadre, RAA: Sydney - War-station at Darwin
     3rd Anti-Aircraft Battery and Cadre, RAA: Newcastle

1st Anti-Aircraft Searchlight Company, RAE: Sydney

33rd Fortress Company, RAE: Paddington

39th Fortress Company, RAE: Newcastle

51st Anti-Aircraft Searchlight Company, RAE (M): Sydney

52nd Anti-Aircraft Searchlight Company, RAE (M): Sydney

1st Light Tank Company, Australian Tank Corps: Randwick


1st Cavalry Division

21st Field Brigade, RAA (28th, 35th, 36th Btys): Parramatta

1st Field Squadron, RAE (Less 1st Troop): Paddington

2nd Armoured Car Regiment: Bringeley (Attached)

2nd Cavalry Brigade: HQ Armidale
     12th Light Horse Regiment (The New England Light Horse): Armidale
     24th Light Horse Regiment(The Gwydir Regiment): Moree
     15th Light Horse Regiment (The Northern River Lancers): Lismore
     16th Light Horse (M.G.) Regiment (The Hunter River Lancers): East Maitland

4th Cavalry Brigade: HQ Paddington
     1st Light Horse (M.G.) Regiment (The Royal New South Wales Lancers): Randwick
     6th Light Horse Regiment (The New South Wales Mounted Rifles): Parkes
     7th Light Horse Regiment (The Australian Horse): Goulburn
     21st Light Horse Regiment (The Riverina Horse): Wagga Wagga


1st Infantry Division

HQ Royal Australian Artillery: Paddington
     1st Field Brigade, RAA (1st, 2nd, 101st Btys): Hamilton
     7th Field Brigade, RAA (25th,  27th, 107th Btys): Willoughby
     1st Medium Brigade, RAA (1st, 2nd, 3rd Btys): Randwich
     No. 1 Artillery Survey Company: Paddington

1st Field Company, RAE: Waratah

8th Field Company, RAE: Crow's Nest

1st Infantry Brigade: HQ Newcastle
     2nd/35th Battalion (The City of Newcastle Regiment/Newcastle's Own Regiment): Newcastle
     13th Battalion (The Maitland Regiment): West Maitland
     33rd Battalion (The New England Regiment): Tamworth
     41st Battalion (The Byron Regiment): Lismore

8th Infantry Brigade: HQ Crow's Nest
     18th Battalion (The Kuring-Gai Regiment): Willoughby
     30th Battalion (The New South Wales Scottish Regiment): Miller's Point
     36th Battalion (The St. George English Rifle Regiment): Haberfield


2nd Infantry Division

9th Field Brigade, RAA (20th, 21st, 109th Btys): Paddington

14th Field Brigade, RAA ( 53rd, 54th, 114th Btys): Marrickville

18th Field Brigade, RAA (117th Bty): Paddington
     60th Field Battery: Hurstville
     61st Field Battery: Marrickville

5th, 9th, 14th Field Companies, RAE: Paddington

5th Infantry Brigade: HQ Parramatta
     4th Battalion (The Australian Rifles): Homebush
     20th/19th Battalion (The Paramatta and Blue Moutain Regiment/The South Sydney Regiment): Parramatta
     54th Battalion (The Lachlan-Macquarie Regiment): Orange
     56th Battalion (The Riverina Regiment): Cootamundra

9th Infantry Brigade: HQ Paddington
     1st Battalion (The City of Sydney Regiment): Paddington
     17th Battalion (The North Sydney Regiment): North Sydney
     45th Battalion (The St. George Regiment): Arncliffe
     The Sydney University Regiment (Attached): Newtown

14th Infantry Brigade: HQ Marrickville
     3rd Battalion (The Werriwa Regiment): Goulburn
     34th Battalion (The Illawara Regiment): Wollongong
     55th/53rd Battalion (The New South Wales Rifle Regiment/The West Sydney Regiment: Marrickville


Can anyone help me with more information?


"Australia @ War" Research Products

I need your help


 Peter Dunn 2015


Please e-mail me
any information or photographs

"Australia @ War"
8GB USB Memory Stick


This page first produced 24 November 2001

This page last updated 04 September 2018