38TH BOMB GROUP ASSOCIATION

Hline.gif (2424 bytes)

visits since 6 February 2003

 

Subject:   Townsville info
Date:           Thu, 21 Jan 1999 11:15:31 EST
From:           Bill McKinstry M38bgp@aol.com

Peter,

I am the Secretary/Treasurer of a peacetime organization called the 38th Bomb Group Association (WWII). I'm sure some of the guys were at Townsville during the war.Whether any of them have info or pictures of the P38 that crashed there or not is unknown. At my latest count there are 26 members of the group that have email addresses, but not all are veterans (some are Associates interested in B-25s or relatives of wartime members) You can reach me at m38bgp@aol.com.

Bill McKinstry

P.S. Believe it or not some of mine and my mother's nieces and nephews may be living in Western Australia. Her brother Jack Kirkpatrick emigrated to there from Enniskillen, No. Ireland before the war.

 

hline.gif (2424 bytes)

 

Subject:   Re: Townsville info
Date:           Fri, 22 Jan 1999 18:47:28 EST
From:          Bill McKinstry M38bgp@aol.com

Peter,

I asked one of our officers if he knew anyone in the Group that was in the early part of the war that was at Townsville and would have info about the P-38 that crashed there. I will call a fellow that was in the photo lab and may have been at Townsville. He did some research on a crashed Zero at Buni so he was in the early days. If it wouldn't give you too much trouble would you care to send me a list of the 5 J. Kirkpatricks?

Bill

 

hline.gif (2424 bytes)

 

Subject:    Re: Townsville info
Date:             Sun, 24 Jan 1999 18:26:40 EST
From:           Bill McKinstry M38bgp@aol.com

Peter,

Thanks for the information. I checked with the fellow in the Group that was in the photo lab. He didn't remember any P-38 crashing while he was there. He was quartered at Armstrong Paddock while there. Also that P-38's did not arrive until December of '42 by his recollection and I didn't remember when you said the accident occurred. We have a newsletter that is published 3 times a year (Jan., May, and Sept). A request for information could be inserted there.

Thanks again.

Bill

 

hline.gif (2424 bytes)

 

Subject:     Forms
Date:              Thu, 20 May 1999 14:06:16 EDT
From:            M38bgp@aol.com

Being the type that likes to go by the books, it took me a while to figure out how to get our Associate Application forms to you Aussies that want to join this organization. It's an easy thing for you to just send in a $20 cheque for your dues and you automatically become a member. However, there is a little more to it than that. Namely, we feel that you should know what you are getting into or what our rules are so we send prospective members a copy of our Constitution and ByLaws and ask them to read it before signing the application. Also the form has to be signed by the current President and Secretary/Treasurer of the Group. Being new to all the things you could do with email, it just occurred to me that these forms could be attached to an email letter that was going to all three of you. For those of you that have sent in your dues is there any way you can fill in the forms and send them back via email? Or do you have any suggestions on how to get around this situation?

Bill

 

hline.gif (2424 bytes)

 

Subject:    Area Code change:
Date:             Sun, 31 Oct 1999 20:27:38 EST
From:           M38bgp@aol.com

To:  heterrell@fea.net

CC: aurdal@whidbey.com, pacos@gte.net, AL38BG@aol.com, doctorde@soundpd.com, epbrady@webtv.net, dbrooks@haysco.net, rburns@mackmolding.com, Whbyron@aol.com, ecasw@ibm.net, mjc@albury.net.au, Chuck7478@aol.com, rcdavis@infoave.net, waltdeas@3dnet.com.au, jackdet@pixi.com, pdunn@st.net.au, ogage@cableone.netggaylord@twintowers.org, N2clplanes@aol.com, Sailslady@aol.com, ljhickey@concentric.net, howe@massed.netdwhowieson@webtv.net, jjhudson@stc.net, Kuhner1921@aol.com, b-jlamb@donet.com, leecl@email.msn.com, macpenny@comteck.com, sampat@interworldnet.net, philnbess@humboldt1.com, mcclaran@concentric.net, bkmcconn@pe.net, Hmiller307@aol.com, jdeleryno2@yahoo.com, eriehl@worldnet.att.net, howard@acronet.net, mustang@whidbey.net, wilkie22@juno.com, B25flyboy@aol.com, hzarfas@ix.netcom.com

Terry this one is for any and all interested in calling Chick Alford. Try calling this number 1-501-922-4779. The latest list of email numbers follows:

Residence Aurdal Mary Jane aurdal@whidbey.com
SunSetter Aurdal Mary Jane,Editor pacos@gte.net
823 Barbour A. Allen AL38BG@aol.com
71 Berget Alfred M. ADBerget@aol.com
ASC Boal Christina & De doctorde@soundpd.com
405 Brady Everett P. epbrady@webtv.net
405 Brandt, Jr. Tommie Carol tocapa2139@aol.com
ASC Brooks Don dbrooks@haysco.net
822 Burns Michael J. rburns@mackmolding.com
822 Byron Wallace H. whbyron@aol.com
405 Caswell Everett L. ecasw@ibm.net
ASC Claringbould Michael mjc@albury.net.au
ASC Cleveland Lewis lewclev@aol.com
ASC Compton Peter pcompton@compuserve.com
405 Crawford Charles M. chuck7478@aol.com
822 Davis Richard rcdavis@infoave.net
ASC Deas Walt waltdeas@3dnet.com.au
822 DeTour Jack L. jackdet@pixi.com
NEW Dunn Peter pdunn@st.net.au
ASC Elliott Bryan roughcut@earthlink.net
823 Gage Orland F.
ogage@cableone.net
71 Gross Robert G. ggaylord@twintowers.org
NEW Guest Chris n2clplanes@aol.com
405 Gunn David J. pappygnk@juno.com
ASC Hickey Lawrence ljhickey@concentric.net
71 Howe William D. howe@massed.net
823 Howieson Rosella P. rhowieson@webtv.net
89 Hudson John R. jjhudson@alltel.net
405 Kuhner George C kuhner1921@aol.com
823 Lamb Bob & Jean b-j.lamb@donet.com
ASC Lee Cynthia L."Cindy" leecl@email.msn.com
HQ Lee Warren E. welee@gateway.net
ASC Maggart Philip E. macpenny@comteck.com
405 Mazzara Sam sampat@interworldnet.net
405 McCartney Warren "Phil" philnbess@humboldt1.com
ASC McClaran Karen mcclaran@concentric.net
823 McConnell Bruce K. bkmcconn@pe.net
822 McKinstry William J. "Bill" m38bgp@aol.com
ASC Miller Herb hmiller307@aol.com
405 Perret, Jr. Joe D. jdeleryno2@yahoo.com
71 Powell James W. powell75@earthlink.net
822 Riehl Edgar A. eriehl@worldnet.att.net
ASC Roberts Tim tnr90thBG@aol.com
ASC Sviben Donald J. howard@acronet.net
405 Terrell, Jr. Harry E."Terry" heterrell@fea.net
822 Thoren James B."Jim" mustang@whidbey.com
ASC Thoren James M. jthoren@msn.com
405 Wheeler Clyde L. ewheeler@ctel.net
71 Wilkes Magee sergant@aol.com
822 Wilkinson Vernon R. wilkie22@juno.com
71 Williams Charles S. B25flyboy@aol.com
405 Wilson Jack & Betty jbwk@rof.net
823 Zarfas Harry hzarfas@ix.netcom.com

Bill

 

hline.gif (2424 bytes)

 

Subject:     A-2 Flight Jacket
Date:              Fri, 5 Nov 1999 15:24:09 EST
From:            M38bgp@aol.com
To:                 aurdal@whidbey.com, pacos@gte.net, AL38BG@aol.com, doctorde@soundpd.com, epbrady@webtv.net, dbrooks@haysco.net, rburns@mackmolding.com, Whbyron@aol.com, ecasw@ibm.net, mjc@albury.net.au, Chuck7478@aol.com, rcdavis@infoave.net, waltdeas@3dnet.com.au, jackdet@pixi.com, pdunn@st.net.au,
ogage@cableone.net, ggaylord@twintowers.org, N2clplanes@aol.com, Sailslady@aol.com, ljhickey@concentric.net, howe@massed.net, rwhowieson@webtv.net, jjhudson@stc.net, Kuhner1921@aol.com, b-j.lamb@donet.com, leecl@email.msn.com, macpenny@comteck.com, sampat@interworldnet.net, philnbess@humboldt1.com, mcclaran@concentric.net, bkmcconn@pe.net, Hmiller307@aol.com, jdeleryno2@yahoo.com, eriehl@worldnet.att.net, howard@acronet.net, heterrell@fea.net, mustang@whidbey.net, wilkie22@juno.com, B25flyboy@aol.com, hzarfas@ix.netcom.com

Hi Guys,

A message just came thru on my address from a collector - dealer in Ontarion, Canada who acquired an A-2 Flight jacket. He says it belonged to a pilot in the 38th BG who earned a DFC and 6 Air medals. He says he only has the service number of #O-515316 and thinks his last name was Johnson. I downloaded the picture he sent and there was no indication of the any squadron, just the words "Bomb Fairys" and a number of bombs probably for indicating missions.

Bill

 

hline.gif (2424 bytes)

 

Subject:     Re: A-2 Flight Jacket
Date:              Mon, 8 Nov 1999 09:43:19 EST
From:            M38bgp@aol.com

To:                 heterrell@fea.net

CC: aurdal@whidbey.com, pacos@gte.net, AL38BG@aol.com, doctorde@soundpd.com, epbrady@webtv.net, dbrooks@haysco.net, rburns@mackmolding.com, Whbyron@aol.com, ecasw@ibm.net, mjc@albury.net.au, Chuck7478@aol.com, rcdavis@infoave.net, waltdeas@3dnet.com.au, jackdet@pixi.com, pdunn@st.net.au, ogage@cableone.net, ggaylord@twintowers.org, N2clplanes@aol.com, Sailslady@aol.com, ljhickey@concentric.net, howe@massed.net, rhowieson@webtv.net, jjhudson@stc.net, Kuhner1921@aol.com, b-j.lamb@donet.com, leecl@email.msn.com, macpenny@comteck.com, sampat@interworldnet.net, philnbess@humboldt1.com, mcclaran@concentric.net, bkmcconn@pe.net, Hmiller307@aol.com, jdeleryno2@yahoo.com, eriehl@worldnet.att.net, howard@acronet.net, mustang@whidbey.net, wilkie22@juno.com, B25flyboy@aol.com, hzarfas@ix.netcom.com

Terry,

I will try to attach that picture of the back of the flight jacket that he sent to me. Maybe that will jog someones memory. It's too bad Isham Johnson doesn't have a computer and be online with us.

Bill

 

fairys.jpg (21328 bytes)

  

Google
Search WWW Search "Australia @ War"

 

In Association with Amazon.com

Heaps of WW2
books available at
Amazon.com

 

 Peter Dunn 2003
Copyright

Click here to E-Mail me with
any information or photographs on the above

Disclaimer

 

Peter Dunn's
explode.gif (15799 bytes) AUSTRALIA @ WAR explode.gif (15799 bytes)
WWW.OZATWAR.COM


Do you need a holiday!
Sun, surf, beautiful beaches and lots more!


  Genealogy Software
plus 190 Mbytes of Genealogy Indexes & programs

This page first produced 23 January 1999

This page last updated 16 February 2007